Tax Reform Letters of Support for the Historic Tax Credit 

NTCIC, the National Trust for Historic Preservation and partners in the Historic Tax Credit Coalition tapped into thousands of advocates who asked their Members of Congress to preserve the HTC in the final tax reform package. And our voices were heard. Longstanding HTC supporters such as Sens. Ben Cardin, D-Md., and Susan Collins, R-Maine, and Reps. Mike Kelly, R-Pa., and Earl Blumenauer, D-Ore.—who sponsored the Historic Tax Credit Improvement Act – worked with Rep. Mike Turner, R-Ohio, Chair of the Historic Preservation Caucus to encourage colleagues to support the HTC. They were joined by new supporters such as Senator Bill Cassidy, R-La., and Congressmen David McKinley, R-W.Va. who championed efforts in the Senate and the House to retain the credit. We also appreciate the support of dozens of members such as Congressmen Rod Blum, R-Iowa, Brad Wenstrup, R-Oh, and Rep. Bruce Westerman, R-Ark who wrote letters to Republican leadership requesting retention of the credit and members like Congressman Tom Graves R-Va who spoke about the value of the HTC on the House floor. In the Senate, Sens. Chuck Grassley, R-Iowa; Pat Roberts, R-Kan.; Johnny Isakson, R-Ga.; and Tim Scott, R-S.C. supported a more wholesome retention of the credit as it was considered by the Senate Finance Committee.

See below for letters of support for the Historic and New Markets Tax Credit: